We have a Council of Governors which is formed of governors elected by public and staff members as well as appointed representatives from local organisations that we work in partnership with. The Trust is accountable through our membership and Council of Governors to our local communities.

Governors play a valuable role by holding our Non-Executive Directors to account, ensuring that the interests of the Trust's members are taken into account and by helping to shape our plans for the future.

Our Governors make sure that the needs of the local population are being met and that staff and service users are fully involved in and consulted on any changes.

All staff, public and patient Governors are elected by members of our Trust. You can become a member of the Trust here.


Governors offer valuable contributions to ensure good corporate governance. The Council meets up to five times a year to discuss the business of the Trust. All meeting papers are published here.

Governors are also involved in the Trust in other ways and attend meetings and events at Trust sites and in the community.

You can take a look at our list of current governors by opening up the categories they represent below.

Each of our governors must declare any interests that could be a potential conflict of interest. You can view the Governors' Register of Interest here.

Public Governors

Sheffield North East

  • Vacancy
  • Vacancy

Sheffield North West

  • Irene Nakamatte (first term ends 30 June 2025)
  • Sylvia Hartley (third term ends 31 July 2023)

Sheffield South East

  • Chris Digman (first term ends 03 July 2023)
  • Vacancy

Sheffield South West

  • Ben Duke (first term ends 31 July 2023)
  • Julie Kitlowski (first term ends 30 June 2024)

Rest of England

  • Chloe Thomas (first term ends 30 June 2025)

Service user governors

  • Nev Wheeler OBE (first term ends 31 August 2023)
  • Jonathan Hall (second term ends 30 June 2025)
  • Rebecca Lawlor (first term ends 31 August 2023)
  • Nicola Hodson (first term ends 31 July 2024)
  • Terry Proudfoot (third term ends 20 June 2025)
  • Vacancy
  • Vacancy
  • Vacancy
  • Vacancy
  • Vacancy
  • Vacancy

Young service user governors

  • Dr. Alistair Brash (first term ends 30 June 2025)
  • Vacancy

Carer governors

  • Billie Critchlow (third term ends 30 June 2025)
  • Vacancy
  • Vacancy
  • Vacancy

Staff governors

  • Allied Health Professionals - Vyvyan Hopkinson (first term ends 30 June 2024)
  • Psychology - Catherine Draper (first term ends 30 June 2024)
  • Social Workers - Vacancy
  • Central Support Staff - David Palfreyman (first term ends 30 June 2025)
  • Clinical support worker staff Vacancy   
  • Medical and clinical staff - Vacancy
  • Nursing staff - Vacancy

Appointed governors

Voluntary sector appointed governors

  • VCPS Pakistan Muslim Centre - Irfan Khan (first term ends 30 June 2025)
  • Sheffield MENCAP - Dave Swindlehurst (first term ends 30 June 2023)
  • SACMHA Health and Social Care - Celia Jackson-Chambers (first term ends 30 April 2024)
  • Sheffield Carers Centre - James Barlow (second term ends 21 February 2025)


  • University of Sheffield - Professor Scott Weich (second term ends 04 September 2023)
  • Sheffield Hallam University - Susan Wakefield (second term ends 07 September 2022)
  • Staff Side - Julie Marsland (first term ends 30 June 2023)

Local authority

  • Councillor Steve Ayris (second term ends 04 July 2023)
  • Councillor Martin Phipps (first term ends 31 May 2023)
  • Counicllor Garry Weatherall (first term ends 31 May 2023)

Council of Governor meetings

Our Council of Governor meetings are open to the public, so if you would like to come along and see the governors in action and hear what they are saying we’d love to see you.

For more information on dates and times for our Council of Governor meetings, including papers for the meeting, click here.

Share this

Was this page useful?