Eligibility and selection criteria - Buckwood View


The selection criteria for Buckwood View are applicable to:

  • Individuals over the age of 18 with a learning disability and a physical and/or mental health need, complex needs such as profound intellectual and multiple disabilities, autism or challenging behaviour who require 24 hour nursing care as they cannot care for themselves.
  • Learning disability includes the presence of:
    •  a significantly reduced ability to understand new or complex information, to learn new skills (impaired intelligence), with:
    • a reduced ability to cope independently (impaired social functioning) which started before adulthood, with a lasting effect on development.

(This is the Valuing People definition, which is consistent with the World Health Organisation and ICD10 definitions.) The Learning Disability Service has a defined eligibility process to determine whether or not someone has a learning disability.

Referral process

Admissions are administered by the Guinness Partnership.

Geographical population covered

  • City of Sheffield