Our Board of Directors all bring a wealth of experience in their professional field, providing informed leadership and guidance for the Trust.

Mike Potts


Mike joined the Trust on 01 August 2020 as our new Chair. He has a wealth of leadership and management experience in the NHS.

He’s been working with Boards for around 20 years and was previously Chief Executive at Calderdale, Kirklees and Wakefield Primary Care Trust Cluster. He’s also worked in commissioning services in South and West Yorkshire. Among his more recent roles, he supported a number of health and social care systems achieve greater integration and agree an action plan following a Care Quality Commission review of how they support older people.

Jan Ditheridge

Chief Executive

Jan joined the Trust as our new Chief Executive in March 2020.

She was previously Chief Executive of Shropshire Community Health NHS Trust (Shropcom) between 2013 and 2020. She oversaw a period of sustained improvement at Shropcom, culminating in the Trust being rated as Good by the CQC across all its services in 2019.

She is an experienced strategic leader with a background encompassing a broad variety of clinical, operational and leadership roles across health, social care and the private sector. She also has a wealth of expertise in the areas of cultural change, transformation, delivery, clinical quality and effective performance management.

Jan grew up in Derbyshire, completing her mental health and general training there before taking advantage of the many learning opportunities the NHS and healthcare has to offer around the country and abroad. 

Phillip Easthope

FCCA, BA (Hons) Accounting and Management Control

Executive Director of Finance

Phillip was appointed as the Trust’s Executive Director of Finance on 08 January 2016, following a period as the Trust’s Interim Executive Director of Finance from 23 March 2015. Prior to his appointment, he was the Trust’s Deputy Director of Finance since 2012 and has over 12 years’ experience in NHS finance.  Phillip is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants and has completed the NHS Strategic Financial Leadership Programme.

Phillip was appointed Interim Deputy Chief Executive from 01 October 2019.

Dr Mike Hunter

MB, ChB (Sheffield, 1995) MRCPsych (Royal College of Psychiatrists, 1999)

Executive Medical Director 

Mike trained first in Medicine and then in Psychiatry, and is now Executive Medical Director at Sheffield Health and Social Care NHS Foundation Trust. His Board-level responsibilities include care quality and care standards, patient safety, service-user and carer engagement, clinical governance and effectiveness, research and development, and medical leadership and education. 

He is also National Specialty Advisor for Adult Mental Health and Chair of the Specialised Commissioning Specialised Mental Health Services Clinical Reference Group at NHS England and NHS Improvement. He works clinically as a Consultant Psychiatrist in a Single Point of Access for secondary care.

Beverley Murphy


Executive Director of Nursing, Professions and Operations

Beverley joined us as Improvement Director in May 2020 and was appointed our Executive Director of Nursing, Professions and Operations in August that year. Beverley has worked as a mental health nurse for over 36 years and has held a range of senior nursing and quality governance roles across the NHS. She has managed acute mental health wards and specialised for some years in eating disorders and in a nurse-led service in the community.

Beverley joined SHSC from South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust where she had been Director of Nursing and Chief Operating Officer.

Beverley’s responsibilities include nurse and professions leadership, clinical quality governance, clinical standards and the delivery of care services.

Sandie Keene CBE

Non-Executive Director

(Chair of the quality assurance committee)

Sandie has lived in Sheffield all her life. She initially began her career as a social worker and her early work was in South Yorkshire Local Authorities. She retired in 2014 after eight years as Director of Adult Social Services in Leeds. She was President of the Association of Directors of Adult Social Services(ADASS) in 2013/4 and was awarded a CBE in 2016.

After retiring Sandie worked with the Local Government Association (LGA) to support health and social care improvement. As an Associate with the LGA she has developed tools to support integrated health and social care.

Additionally, she is Independent Chair of a Safeguarding Adults Board and the Sheffield Diocesan Safeguarding Panel. She is trustee of a national housing association and a volunteer at local faith based social action project.

Richard Mills

BSc Environmental (Town) Planning, Diploma in Health Service Management

Non-Executive Director

(Chair of the finance and performance committee)

Richard joined us as a Non-Executive Director on 01 December 2015. He has over 35 years senior management experience in the NHS, charitable, independent and public sector organisations, including Board level positions in NHS organisations.

Richard was an NHS Manager and Director from 1979-2012, working in the London and Thames Valley Hospital, Health Authority and Primary Care Trust levels. Richard was the Chief Executive of the Intensive Care National Audit and Research Centre (ICNARC) 2014-2015 and has been a management consultant since 2012.  Richard’s expertise is invaluable to the Board, where he currently serves as Chair of the Finance and Performance Committee.

Heather Smith

BA(Hons) Psychology, MSc Occupational Psychology, Postgraduate Certificate in Education

Non-Executive Director

(Chair of the workforce and organisational development committee)

Heather joined the Trust on 1 August 2019. Her previous job was Principal of The Sheffield College and she worked in education in Sheffield (where she lives) for over 33 years until her retirement.

Since retirement Heather has undertaken advisory and coaching support work with colleges around the country, as well as working on a voluntary basis with a local organisation which is focussed on reducing food waste and promoting sustainability. Heather’s work in education has many links with the goals of the Trust. One of her early management roles was the introduction of pathways to employment and apprenticeships with the NHS in Sheffield, a project which gained several national awards and still exists today. She is a passionate supporter of the need for city-wide organisations to work together collaboratively in order to improve lives and promote social justice and equality.

Heather’s interest and expertise lies in organisational development and transition, culture change and improvement management.

Share this

Was this page useful?